Because charges of driving under the influence (DUI) involve public endangerment, it’s important to understand the level of penalties that can result from a DUI conviction. The Nevada DUI penalties are serious ranging from fines, community service, loss of driving privileges, to jail time.
Like most U.S. states, Nevada laws can be very tough and unforgiving to persons convicted of DUIs.
Potential Nevada DUI Penalties
A first conviction within a seven-year period
- A fine ranging between $400 and $1,000.
- Jail time ranges from two days to six months.
- Between 48 to 96 hours of community service.
- Compulsory substance abuse treatment/program for persons with a blood alcohol concentration exceeding 0.18.
- Revocation of driver’s license and other driving privileges for a minimum of 90 days.
A second conviction within a seven-year period
- Fines range from $750 to $1,000.
- Jail time ranges from ten days to six months.
- Possible residential confinement ranges from ten days to six months.
- Community service hours increased to match the increase in fines.
- Compulsory substance abuse treatment/program.
- Revocation of license and loss of driving privileges for at least one year.
A third conviction within a seven-year period
- Jail time ranges from one to six years
- Fines ranging from $2,000 to $5,000
- Community services hours increased to match the higher fine range
- Compulsory substance abuse treatment/program
- Any additional DUI convictions will be classified as felonies, regardless of the time frame of the offenses.
Additionally, the specific details of the DUI charge can also play a large factor in the penalties. For instance, if the DUI resulted in the death of another person, the penalties would increase in severity. It’s also possible the court may order an individual’s motor vehicle to have an ignition interlock device installed to inhibit future DUIs.
The seven-year time frame will start on the first conviction and go from there. Also, it should be noted the state of Nevada might require the individual to cover the costs of substance abuse treatment and/or programs. For example, if the court orders the individual to submit to a psychiatric evaluation, you may be expected to cover the cost of that evaluation. The individual may also be responsible for the costs of additional driver’s tests to confirm aptitude, the costs of having their license reinstated, and the cost of legal representation for court appearances.
Other DUI Considerations
As of January 2023, Nevada’s blood alcohol limit currently sits at .08 for regular drivers and .04 for commercial drivers.
However, the current limit does not mean law enforcement cannot arrest an individual for driving under the influence and testing under the limit. Because DUIs present a threat to both the driver and everyone else near or on the road, law enforcement could arrest and charge an individual with low blood alcohol concentration if that person appears to be driving under the influence.
Also, a driver can have their license revoked for one year should they refuse to submit to blood alcohol tests. So even if their blood alcohol concentration ends up being under the legal limit, they can still face heavy penalties.
Contact Us Today
To find out more about the state of Nevada’s DUI penalties, contact Shahani Law Ltd today.